

THE SAFETY AND RELIABILITY SOCIETY

Holloinwood Business Centre, Albert Street, Oldham OL8 3HG TELEPHONE: 0161 393 8411 e-mail: info@sars.org.uk

Chief Executive: Dr Jacqueline A Christodoulou MBE C.Psychol CSci

2017 SOCIETY AGM MINUTES

Minutes of the thirty-sixth Annual General Meeting of the Safety and Reliability Society held on **Thursday 30th November 2017** at RSSB, The Helicon, 1 South Place, London EC2M 2RB

Present: Six members were present: Dr Trevor Cockram, Mr Harry Hopkins, Dr Emma Taylor, Mr Colin Dennis, Mr Richard Denning, Mr Ben Gilmartin, Mr Peter Shephard, Mr Peter Stanton and Mr Mike Sleath with twenty-one which meant that the meeting was adequately quorate.

There were apologies from Mr A Buchan and Mrs Nicola Stacey.

Colin Dennis as Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting. Colin thanked those who had submitted proxy votes and accepted apologies for absence.

- 1. 2016 AGM. The minutes, reports and accounts for the Society 2016 AGM had been placed on the website. Their acceptance was proposed by M Sleath and seconded by C Dennis. The resolution was carried by twenty nine votes for, nem con.
- 2. Council/Chairman's report. The Chairman reported that the Society had undertaken several activities that improved the profile of the Society. These included a new webinar program, a branch enhancement plan and a recruitment and retention strategy which was now in operation. During this year Council met quarterly to discuss various operational matters and approve and oversee various projects. Colin thanked the Council for their help during the year and thanked the office for their support.
- 3. Peter Stanton, then gave a financial report for the previous financial year. The SARS Ltd financial statement had been tabled at the SARS Ltd AGM. The budget for 2017/18 for the Society was tabled. The budget was generated to work on a break-even basis and Council had previously endorsed the decision to run events and projects on cost neutral terms. The budget had been cast

Annual General Meeting of The Safety and Reliability Society 30TH November 2017

to consider the loss of income in 2015/16 and the ongoing need to recruit members while maintain good quality membership benefits. It was reported that that the accounts had exceeded the break-even budget for the year and that the outcome had reduced the negative reserve situation, but a cautious approach would still be needed to reverse the remaining negative reserve. . It was resolved that the Council Report and Accounts should be accepted. Proposed by P Stanton and seconded by E Taylor. Accepted nem con.

- 4. It was resolved that Voisey and Co Chartered Accountants should be reappointed as auditors. Proposed by E Taylor seconded by H Hopkins. Accepted nem con.
- 5. It was resolved that the revised subscription levels should be accepted.

| | 2018 | 2017 |
|------------------|------|------|
| Fellow | 177 | 168 |
| Member | 120 | 111 |
| Associate member | 87 | 78 |
| Associate | 87 | 78 |
| Retired Member | 78 | 69 |
| Retired Fellow | 78 | 69 |
| Student | 55 | 45 |
| | | |
| | | |

| Affiliate | 900 |
|--------------------|-----|
| Academic Affiliate | 450 |

Proposed M Sleath and seconded by H Hopkins. Carried nem con

6. External Affairs Committee
The External Affairs Committee report was given by Mr Harry Hopkins.

7. Membership and Grading Committee The membership and Grading Committee Report was given by Mr R Denning and reported a rigorous system and a turnaround of application of one week.

- 8. Publications Committee
 There was no publication report for the 2017AGM.
- 9. Education, Standards and Professional Development Committee There was no ESPD report for the 2016 AGM.
- 10. Branches Committee

 Colin Dennis gave an overview of work done with Branches during the year.

11. Council Resolutions

Annual General Meeting of The Safety and Reliability Society 30TH November 2017

The resolution to Change the Safety and Reliability Society Code of Conduct (B) Rules of Conduct was proposed by H Hopkins and seconded by C Dennis. The meeting voted and this was accepted nem con.

12. Election of Council Members and Officers

Nominations:

The following people were re-elected following nominations received as follows:

Peter Stanton – re-elected for a three year term

Alan Bain – re-elected for a three year term

Trevor Cockram – re-elected for a three year term

The Chairman thanked them for their continuing support of the Society.

There was one new member of Council nominated and co-opted during the year: Anson Jack – co-opted for three years Peter Shephard – co-opted for three years

The Chairman welcomed them to SaRS Council.

13. Officers of Council for 2017 are as follows:

Colin Dennis – Chairman
Emma Taylor – Chair Elect
Peter Stanton – Financial Director/Treasurer
Andy Buchan – President
Jacqueline Christodoulou – CEO/ Company Secretary

- 14. In other business, the Chairman thanked Council officers for their contributions and welcomed new members. JAC thanked Colin Dennis for his service as Chair and his agreement to continue for a further term.
- 15. The Society AGM was closed at 17.45.

Jacqueline Christodoulou Secretary/Chief Executive 30th November 2017