

## THE SAFETY AND RELIABILITY SOCIETY

Hollinwood Business Centre, Albert Street, Oldham OL8 3HG TELEPHONE: 0161 393 8411 e-mail: info@sars.org.uk

Chief Executive: Dr Jacqueline A Christodoulou MBE C.Psychol CSci

## **2021 SOCIETY AGM MINUTES**

Minutes of the 40th Annual General Meeting of the Safety and Reliability Society held on Tuesday 23rd November 2021 online on Zoom at 1700

Present: 22 members were present: votes which meant that the meeting was adequately quorate.

There were no apologies.

Peter Sheppard as Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. He explained that the AGM's of The Safety and Reliability Society and SARS Ltd would be intertwined so that the financial reports could be dealt with together. He also explained the voting mechanism within Zoom and how the votes would be counted. Peter thanked those who had submitted proxy votes.

- 1. 2020 AGM. The minutes, reports and accounts for the Society 2020 AGM had been placed on the website. Their acceptance was proposed by P Stanton and seconded by H Hopkins. The resolution was carried by twenty-four votes for, nem con.
- 2. Council/Chair's report. The Chair reported that the Society had undertaken several activities that improved the profile of the Society. These included continuation of a recruitment and retention strategy, webinar programme and a risk register as well as improvements to the SaRS website. Despite a pandemic, the Society had adapted operations and moved forward. During this year Council met quarterly to discuss various operational matters and approve and oversee various projects. Peter thanked the Council for their help during the year and thanked the office for their support.
- 3. Peter Stanton, then gave a financial report for the previous financial year. The SARS Ltd financial statement had been tabled at the SARS Ltd AGM. The budget for 2021/22 for the Society was tabled. The budget was generated to work on a break-even basis and Council had previously endorsed the decision to run events and projects on cost neutral terms and this continued. The budget had been cast to consider the outcome in the previous year and the ongoing need to recruit members while maintain good quality membership benefits. It was reported that that the accounts had continued to grow the positive reserve situation of the previous year It was resolved that the Council Report and Accounts should be accepted. Proposed by L Whiting and seconded by H Hopkins. Accepted nem con.
- 4. It was resolved that Voisey and Co Chartered Accountants should be reappointed as auditors. Proposed by P Stanton seconded by L Whiting. Accepted nem con.

5. It was resolved that the revised subscription levels should be accepted.

	2021	2022
Fellow	189	198
Member	129	132
Associate member	96	99
Associate	96	99
Retired Member	87	87
Retired Fellow	87	87
Student	55	55
Affiliate	900	950
Academic Affiliate	450	500

Fees for employees of Affiliate Companies would be invoiced at 10% discount.

Proposed P Stanton and seconded by H Hopkins. Carried nem con

- 6. External Affairs Committee no report was given.
- 7. Membership and Grading Committee
  R Denning reported that there had been a steady increase in membership application during the year
- 8. Publications Committee no report was given.
- 9. Branches Committee no report was given
- 10. Engineering Membership Committee

A report was tabled by the Engineering Membership Committee outlining the success during the year of sucuring a further 4 year Licence from the Engineering Council to register Incorporated and Chartered Engineers.

- 11. Council Resolutions No resolutions were considered
- 12. Election of Council Members and Officers

Nominations:

The following people were elected following nominations received as follows:

Chris Harrison (Relected)

Peter Sheppard (Relected)

Harry Holkins (Relected)

Andy Buchan (Relected)

Sam Jelley Sheik (Elected)

During the year the following members were co-opted:

Harry Moss

Joanne Lewis

The Chair welcomed them to SaRS Council.

Retirements and resignations during the year were: Emma Taylor Mikela Chatzilchalildou Ross Dunsford Richard Derrett Smith

The Chair thanked them for their service on Council and in key roles during his terms.

13. Officers of Council for 2021/22 are as follows:

Andy Buchan – Chair
Louise Whiting – Chair Elect
Peter Sheppard – Past Chair
Peter Stanton – Financial Director/Treasurer
Richard Denning – President
Jacqueline Ward – CEO/ Company Secretary

- 14. In other business, the Chair thanked Council officers for their contributions and welcomed new members. Jacqueline Ward thanked Peter Sheppard for his service as Chair and Richard Denning for his service as President.
- 15. Peter Sheppard took the Chair and outlined the business for the coming year.
- 16. The Society AGM was closed at 17.20.

Jacqueline Ward Secretary/Chief Executive 30<sup>th</sup> November 2021