

THE SAFETY AND RELIABILITY SOCIETY

Hollinwood Business Centre, Albert Street, Oldham OL8 3HG TELEPHONE: 0161 393 8411 e-mail: info@sars.org.uk

Chief Executive: Dr Jacqueline A Christodoulou MBE C.Psychol CSci

2022 SOCIETY AGM MINUTES

Minutes of the 41st Annual General Meeting of the Safety and Reliability Society held on Tuesday 22nd November 2022 online on Zoom at 1700

Present: 18 members were present: 2 proxy votes which meant that the meeting was adequately quorate. There were no apologies.

Andrew Buchan as Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. He explained that the AGM's of The Safety and Reliability Society and SARS Ltd would be intertwined so that the financial reports could be dealt with together. Andy thanked those who had submitted proxy votes.

- 1. 2021 AGM. The minutes, reports and accounts for the Society 2021 AGM minutes had been placed on the website. Their acceptance was proposed by Peter Sheppard and seconded by H Hopkins. The resolution was carried *nem con.
- 2. Council/Chair's report. The Chair reported that the Society had undertaken several activities that improved the profile of the Society. These included continuation of a recruitment and retention strategy, webinar programme and a risk register as well as improvements to the SaRS website. Despite a pandemic recovery period, the Society had adapted operations and moved forward. Both membership and affiliate membership had improved during the year. During this year Council met quarterly to discuss various operational matters and approve and oversee various projects. Andy thanked the Council for their help during the year and thanked the office for their support.
- 3. Peter Stanton, then gave a financial report for the previous financial year. The SARS Ltd financial statement had been tabled at the SARS Ltd AGM. The budget for 2022/23 for the Society was tabled. The budget was generated to work on a break-even basis and Council had previously endorsed the decision to on cost neutral terms and this continued. The budget had been cast to consider the outcome in the previous year and the ongoing need to recruit members while maintaining good quality membership benefits. It was reported that that the accounts had continued to grow the positive reserve situation of the previous year. It was resolved that the Council Report and Accounts should be accepted. Proposed by C Harrison and seconded by R Denning. Accepted nem con.
- 4. It was resolved that Voisey and Co Chartered Accountants should be reappointed as auditors. Proposed by P Stanton seconded by L Whiting. Accepted nem con.

5. It was resolved that the revised subscription levels should be accepted.

	2022	2023
Fellow	198	204
Member	132	135
Associate member	99	102
Associate	99	102
Retired Member	87	90
Retired Fellow	87	90
Student	55	57
Academic Affiliate	500	500
Affiliate	950	950

Fees for employees of Affiliate Companies would be invoiced at 10% discount.

Proposed P Stanton and seconded by C Harrison. Carried nem con

- 6. External Affairs Committee Andrew Buchan informed the meeting that Affiliate recruitment is going well.
- 7. Membership and Grading Committee
 R Denning reported that there had been a drop in membership applications in the year.
- 8. Publications Committee
 C Harrison reported on improvements in downloads for the journal, and the increase in copyflow. There is also an opportunity to sign up for SCOPUS database that will be pursued.
- 9. Branches Committee no report was given
- 10. Engineering Membership Committee No report was given
- 11. Council Resolutions No resolutions were considered
- 12. Election of Council Members and Officers

Nominations:

The following people were elected following nominations received as follows:
Peter Stanton (Re-elected)
David Holland (Re-elected)
Colin Dennis (Re-elected)
Seyi Weli (Re-elected)

The Chair welcomed them to SaRS Council.

Retirements and resignations during the year were: Isuru Herath

The Chair thanked her for her service on Council and in key roles during her term.

13. Officers of Council for 2022/23 are as follows:

Louise Whiting – Chair
Chris Harrison – Chair Elect
Andrew Buchan – Past Chair
Peter Stanton – Financial Director/Treasurer
Richard Denning – President
Jacqueline Ward – CEO/ Company Secretary

- 14. In other business, the Chair thanked Council officers for their contributions and welcomed new members. Jacqueline Ward thanked Andrew Buchan for his service as Chair and Richard Denning for his continued service as President.
- 15. Louise Whiting took the Chair and outlined the business for the coming year.
- 16. The Society AGM was closed at 17.30.

Jacqueline Ward Secretary/Chief Executive 30th November 2022

Approved by Safety and Reliability Chair Andrew Buchan 30th November 2022

^{*}Nem con – nemine contradicente meaning without contradiction/dissent