

THE SAFETY AND RELIABILITY SOCIETY

Holloinwood Business Centre, Albert Street, Oldham OL8 3HG TELEPHONE: 0161 393 8411 e-mail: info@sars.org.uk

Chief Executive: Dr Jacqueline A Christodoulou MBE C.Psychol CSci

2018 SOCIETY AGM MINUTES

Minutes of the thirty-seventh Annual General Meeting of the Safety and Reliability Society held on Tuesday 27th November 2017 at WSP, 70 Chancery Lane, London, WC2A 1AF

Present: ten members were present: twenty-one proxy votes which meant that the meeting was adequately quorate.

There were apologies from Mr A Buchan.

Colin Dennis as Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting. Colin thanked those who had submitted proxy votes and accepted apologies for absence.

- 1. 2017 AGM. The minutes, reports and accounts for the Society 2017 AGM had been placed on the website. Their acceptance was proposed by E Taylor and seconded by H Hopkins. The resolution was carried by twenty five votes for, nem con.
- 2. Council/Chairman's report. The Chairman reported that the Society had undertaken several activities that improved the profile of the Society. These included a recruitment and retention strategy, webinar programme and a risk register. GDPR was also undertaken successfully during the year, as well as well received branch initiatives. During this year Council met quarterly to discuss various operational matters and approve and oversee various projects. Colin thanked the Council for their help during the year and thanked the office for their support.
- 3. Peter Stanton, then gave a financial report for the previous financial year. The SARS Ltd financial statement had been tabled at the SARS Ltd AGM. The budget for 2018/19 for the Society was tabled. The budget was generated to work on a breakeven basis and Council had previously endorsed the decision to run events and projects on cost neutral terms. The budget had been cast to consider the loss of income in 2017 and the ongoing need to recruit members while maintain good quality membership benefits. It was reported that that the accounts had rectified the negative reserve situation of the previous year caused by loss of income by recruiting members, making savings on expenses and a break in producing journals. It was resolved that the Council Report and Accounts should be accepted. Proposed by P Stanton and seconded by H Hopkins. Accepted nem con.

- 4. It was resolved that Voisey and Co Chartered Accountants should be reappointed as auditors. Proposed by E Taylor seconded by H Hopkins. Accepted nem con.
- 5. It was resolved that the revised subscription levels should be accepted.

Fellow Member Associate member Associate Retired Member Retired Fellow Student	2018 177 120 87 87 78 78	2019 183 123 90 90 81 81 55
Affiliate	900	950
Academic Affiliate	450	500

Proposed R Denning and seconded by N Stacey. Carried nem con

6. External Affairs Committee

The External Affairs Committee report was given by Mr Harry Hopkins.

7. Membership and Grading Committee

The membership and Grading Committee Report was given by Mr R Denning and reported a rigorous system and a turnaround of application of one week.

8. Publications Committee

A publication report was given by Mrs N Stacey and Mr C Harrison.

9. Education, Standards and Professional Development Committee There was no ESPD report for the 2018 AGM.

10. Branches Committee

Colin Dennis gave an overview of work done with Branches during the year.

11. Council Resolutions

There were no Resolutions for 2018

12. Election of Council Members and Officers

Nominations:

The following people were re-elected following nominations received as follows:

Harry Hopkins (Elected)

Richard Denning (Elected)

Andy Buchan (Elected)

Emma Taylor (Elected)

The Chairman thanked them for their continuing support of the Society.

There were two new members of Council nominated and co-opted during the year:

Chris Harrison (Co-Opted during the year)
Peter Sheppard (Co-opted during the year)

The Chairman welcomed them to SaRS Council.

Retirements and resignations during the year were:

Steve Burke has resigned from Council during the year Andy Buchan has completed his role as President but remains on Council Ian Stanley has elected to become an Advisor to Council

The Chairman thanked them for their service on Council and in key roles during their terms.

13. Officers of Council for 2018/19 are as follows:

Emma Taylor – Chairman
Colin Dennis – Past Chair
Peter Sheppard – Chair Elect
Peter Stanton – Financial Director/Treasurer
Richard Denning – President
Jacqueline Christodoulou – CEO/ Company Secretary

The AGM welcomes new trustees Richard Denning, who will take the President role for a term of three years and Peter Sheppard, who will take the Chair Elect role.

- 14. In other business, the Chairman thanked Council officers for their contributions and welcomed new members. JAC thanked Colin Dennis for his service as Chair and Andy Buchan for his service as President.
- 15. The Society AGM was closed at 17.45.

Jacqueline Christodoulou Secretary/Chief Executive 8th January 2019