

## THE SAFETY AND RELIABILITY SOCIETY

Hollinwood Business Centre, Albert Street, Oldham OL8 3HG TELEPHONE: 0161 393 8411 e-mail: info@sars.org.uk

Chief Executive: Dr Jacqueline A Christodoulou MBE C.Psychol CSci

## **2019 SOCIETY AGM MINUTES**

Minutes of the thirty-eighth Annual General Meeting of the Safety and Reliability Society held on Tuesday 12th November 2019 at WSP, 70 Chancery Lane, London, WC2A 1AF at 1700

Present: 7 members were present: eleven votes which meant that the meeting was adequately quorate.

There were apologies from Mrs N Stacey, Mr J Williams, Mr H Hopkins and Mr S Rutherford.

Emma Taylor as Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting. Emma thanked those who had submitted proxy votes and accepted apologies for absence.

- 1. 2018 AGM. The minutes, reports and accounts for the Society 2018 AGM had been placed on the website. Their acceptance was proposed by P Sheppard and seconded by P Stanton. The resolution was carried by eighteen votes for, nem con.
- 2. Council/Chair's report. The Chair reported that the Society had undertaken several activities that improved the profile of the Society. These included continuation of a recruitment and retention strategy, webinar programme and a risk register. The Society had successfully completed a Professional Affiliate Audit embarked on the route to Licenced Member with the Engineering Council during this year. During this year Council met quarterly to discuss various operational matters and approve and oversee various projects. Emma thanked the Council for their help during the year and thanked the office for their support.
- 3. Peter Stanton, then gave a financial report for the previous financial year. The SARS Ltd financial statement had been tabled at the SARS Ltd AGM. The budget for 2018/19 for the Society was tabled. The budget was generated to work on a break-even basis and Council had previously endorsed the decision to run events and projects on cost neutral terms and this continued. The budget had been cast to consider the loss of income in 2018/9 and the ongoing need to recruit members while maintain good quality membership benefits. It was reported that that the accounts had continued to grow the positive reserve situation of the previous year It was resolved that the Council Report and Accounts should be accepted. Proposed by R Denning and seconded by M Sleath. Accepted nem con.
- 4. It was resolved that Voisey and Co Chartered Accountants should be reappointed as auditors. Proposed by P Stanton seconded by O Weli. Accepted nem con.

5. It was resolved that the revised subscription levels should be accepted.

Fellow Member Associate member Associate Retired Member Retired Fellow Student	2020 186 126 93 93 81 81 55	2019 183 123 90 90 81 81 55
Affiliate	900	950
Academic Affiliate	450	500

Proposed P Stanton and seconded by O Weli. Carried nem con

- 6. External Affairs Committee no report was given.
- 7. Membership and Grading Committee

R Denning presented certificates to CPD assessors and noted the excellent progress toward Licenced Member status with the Engineering Council

R Denning as President awarded Harry Hopkins the President's Award which was accepted on his behalf by Jacqueline Ward as CEO. The meeting voted unanimously to accept R Denning's citation. Proposed by R Denning and Seconded by P Stanton.

- 8. Publications Committee no report was given.
- 9. Education, Standards and Professional Development Committee no report was given
- 10. Branches Committee no report was given
- 11. Council Resolutions

Two resolutions were considered

- 1. Gender neutral amendments to bylaws
- 2. Decision regarding engineering would be made by Chartered Engineers changes to bylaws. These were accepted by the meeting nem com. Proposed by R Denning and seconded by P Sheppard
- 12. Election of Council Members and Officers

## Nominations:

The following people were re-elected following nominations received as follows:

Peter Stanton (Elected)

David Holland (Elected)

Nicola Stacey (Elected)

Colin Dennis (Elected)

The Chair thanked them for their continuing support of the Society.

There was one new members of Council nominated and co-opted during the year: Seyi Weli (Elected)

The Chair welcomed her to SaRS Council.

Retirements and resignations during the year were:

Alec Bounds has completed his term on Council and did not wish to be re-elected.

The Chair thanked him for his service on Council and in key roles during his terms.

- 13. Officers of Council for 2019/20 are as follows:
- 14. Peter Sheppard Chair

Emma Taylor – Past Chair

Colin Dennis - Chair Elect

Peter Stanton - Financial Director/Treasurer

Richard Denning – President

Jacqueline Ward - CEO/ Company Secretary

- 15. In other business, the Chair thanked Council officers for their contributions and welcomed new members. Jacqueline Ward thanked Emma Taylor for her service as Chair and Richard Denning for his service as President.
- 16. Peter Sheppard took the Chair and outlined the business for the coming year.
- 17. The Society AGM was closed at 17.20.

Jacqueline Ward Secretary/Chief Executive 14<sup>th</sup> November 2019