The Safety and Reliability Society (SaRS) held its Annual General meeting on 14th November 2023. Chris Harrison was appointed Chair at the meeting.

Chris started his career in 2000 working as a Safety Analyst for the National Air Traffic Services (NATS) working on modelling the risk from a mid-air plane collision. In 2003 he joined the Rail Safety and Standards Board (RSSB) as a risk analyst where he was set to work on developing and maintaining the Safety Risk Model (SRM), the GB rail industry’s network wide model of safety risk. Today he is a Futures Lab Systems Engineer at RSSB, using his background in risk to explore and evaluate emerging technologies and trends that can enhance the safety and performance of the railway. He is a Chartered Physicist through the Institute of Physics, a Fellow of the Safety and Reliability Society (SaRS) and the Editor-in-Chief of the SaRS peer reviewed journal Safety and Reliability.

Chris told us:

I’m honoured to be taking up the position of Chair of the Safety and Reliability Society at this exciting time in our 43-year history. We offer a fantastic range of services and opportunities for our members, whether it’s attending one of the many branch activities taking place all around the country, or participating with one of our regular webinars, or keeping up with the latest developments in safety and reliability through our peer reviewed journal or our newsletter, there are so many ways to get involved. I very much look forward to contributing to the continuation and enhancement of all of these in my tenure as Chair and working with the rest of the SaRS Council and the committees to continue to deliver the society’s aims.

Chris thanked Louise Whiting for her term as Chair, and thanked outgoing trustee and director, Andy Buchan for his term.

Warning: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/sites/ on line 70